On Being Unapologetically Liberal

Who exactly are the real snowflakes?

Michael Greiner
6 min readNov 21, 2019

Fundamentally, being a Liberal means that I respect the rights and dignity of all human beings. It means that I believe each person should have an equal opportunity in our society, no matter their gender, sexual orientation, race, religion, or any other characteristic we use to divide us from them.

It makes me angry when I see some people trying to deny others equal opportunity. To correct for the intentional and unintentional structural barriers that face many people in their quest for the American dream, I believe society as a whole has an obligation to intervene to extend the benefits of equality to all. How we do that is through government action. Government is, after all, the embodiment of our collective will.

I must admit that I am passionate about these beliefs. They have guided me in my choice of profession, friends, and faith. Although I do have Republican friends, even conservative ones, I cannot abide anyone who does not respect the dignity of another human being.

This tradition has a long history in my family. Members of my family fought for the North in the Civil War. My grandfather often told me that he could not tolerate displays of the stars and bars as it symbolized treason to our country, and the effort to prop up a fundamentally…

--

--

Michael Greiner

Mike is an Assistant Professor of Management for Legal and Ethical Studies at Oakland U. Mike combines his scholarship with practical experience in politics.